About museum



As a leading research, educational, and cultural centre the Kirovohrad Regional Museum of Local History can be considered the successor of the oldest city museum established in 1883 by the instructor of the Yelisavetgrad zemstvo non-classical secondary school (widely known as Realschule) Volodymyr Yastrebov (1855 - 1899). Another scholar Pavlo Riabkov (1848 - 1927) has also contributed greatly to the development of the museum.
In 1929 the District Museum 6f History and Archaeology moved to the premises at the address 40 Lenina Street where it is still can be found. Since 1939 it has been titled as the Regional Museum of Local History.
Prior to the Great Patriotic War of 1941 - 1945 the museum could boast of the considerable amount of history, archaeology, ethnography, numismatics artefacts, numerous exhibits of local flora and fauna, manuscripts by the Kropyvnytskyi family who were famous theatre activists, picture of Russian, Dutch, French, and Ukrainian painters, impressive book stock containing volumes from the 15th - 18th centuries.
Alas, during the German occupation period the whole museum collection was plundered and its exhibits vanished. Total losses of the museum in this period are estimated close to ten thousand pieces.
In September 1946 the museum was recurrently inaugurated and opened for the visitors. The exposition consisted of just two sections: nature of the local lands and history of the local lands.
In 1956 a renowned Ukrainian dramatist Ivan Tobilevych was commemorated in Kirovohrad Region, so Khutir Nadiia, the sanctuary museum of Ivan Tobilevych (Karpenko-Karyi) was established that year. It was given the status of the branch of the Kirovohrad Regional Museum of Local History.
In April 1956 another section of the Kirovohrad Regional Museum of Local History was inaugurated. It was the picture gallery hosted then at the premises of the Cathedral of the Transfiguration of the Saviour. In 1993 the picture gallery split off and was recognized as the Regional Art Museum.
In 1982 Kirovohrad saw the pro bono establishment of the Marko Kropyvnytskyi Memorial Museum to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Ukrainian coryphaei theatre foundation. Since 1983 it has also become the branch of the Kirovohrad Regional Museum of Local History.
In 2004 another section of the Kirovohrad Regional Museum of Local History was created. It is the History Museum of the Ukrainian Choreography Art. This establishment is globally unique. Its exhibits can be seen in the six halls of the Khutir Nadiia, the sanctuary museum of Ivan Tobilevych (Karpenko-Karyi), premises.
Another branch, Tobilevychi Museum and Nature Reserve in Arsenivka village (Novomyrhorod District), was inaugurated in 2006 to commemorate the birthplace of Ivan Tobilevych.
Museum stocks contain over 60 thousand items of the basic collections and some 27 thousand artefacts from the research and supplemental gatherings. All the exhibits characterize the native nature, historical development of the local lands and its lore from the ancient times to modernity.
The Regional Museum of Local History, its sections and branches (Khutir Nadiia, the sanctuary museum of Ivan Tobilevych / Karpenko-Karyi) are visited annually by 50 thousand people from all the parts of Kirovohrad Region and generally Ukraine coming to our city even from abroad. The Museum, its sections and branches, utilize various services supplied to the clients, such as excursions, lectures aided by museum exhibits, audio and video materials demonstration, museum lessons, "courage and patriotism lessons", presentations of the new books and local lore and history researches by our compatriots, meetings at the "theatre salon", holding events to the national and traditional holidays and festivities, famous people anniversaries and jubilees etc. Researchers take care of over 100 different exhibitions yearly following various topical themes.
The Kirovohrad Regional Museum of Local History is a leading scientific and methodological centre of the museum activities in the region.